Meow Everyone………….

I thought it was time for me to introduce myself and my cats to everyone.  I am the crazy lady from the neighborhood, you know the one, all covered with cat hair.  I have a passion, cats, cats, cats, and more cats.  Oh, did I mention cats?  I love dogs too, but growing up we were always a cat family.

My Alpha Cat is Natasha.  She is a Bengal, small and sleek.  Her spotted coat is soft as silk with a dusting of gold glitter.  Natasha is such a beauty queen but also extremely intelligent and down right nosey.  To look in her eyes, you can see not just a cat staring back at you but a real person.  I know that sounds odd, but she really comprehends what you are saying.  You can carry on a conversation with her, and she makes sure she meows her opinion.

She also has to have her nose in everything and has to be involved in whatever you are doing.  Natasha is very helpful when I wash the dishes or fold laundry.  What a pip.

Image

Natasha

Then there is Simon, rescued off the streets in front of my brother and sister-in-law’s house.  He is more reserved and somewhat of a loner. I think he is that way because he had to fend for himself while living on the streets.  But when you stare into Simon’s eyes, you have a cat looking back.  Simon is such a gentlemen.  It was quite a transition for him when he first came to live with us.

Let me tell you a story…………. It was just a few days before Thanksgiving and it was getting cold and snowy out.  My brother and sister-in-law was concerned for Simon  and how he would survive the winter.  Having 3 cats of their own, they really couldn’t take in another.  So after a vet visit, we kept him in a spare bedroom to help with the transition and introduction to Natasha.

This is where is gets good.  After arriving back home from a family Thanksgiving dinner, we find him missing.  I call this story escape from Alcatraz.  The bedroom door was still closed, but no Simon.  I live in a 200-year-old house that still has some of the original windows.  Simon, frantic to get out, pawed and pawed the old glass panes until one loosened and fell out.  And out he went, from a second story window!

For days we looked for him.  I put a big sign on the front lawn and distributed flyers everywhere.  We were worried sick about our Simon.  We received many calls of a white cat with black spots from all over the neighborhood.  So what else would a woman do?  Send her husband out into the cold to search for him of course.

Needless to say, there is a Crazier Lady than I in our neighborhood.  The Crazier Lady called the cops on my husband because he was lurking in her yard searching for Simon.  This was after Hubby knocked on her door and asked if he could look for him.  But I am digressing and the Crazier Lady of the Neighborhood is a whole other story.  I think I will save that one for another post.

In the end, we were reunited with Simon after 4 days of being AWOL.  He has been in our home for about 4 years now, finally giving up his wandering ways.

Image

Simon

And lastly there is my Buffy Mae.  And what a love bug she is.  She came to my back door one December night demanding to come in.  It is sad because I think Buffy Mae belonged to the family next door, but left her behind when their house was foreclosed.  They were there one day and gone the next.  Buffy Mae showed up on my back stoop wanting to be adopted and I am so happy she did.

Buffy Mae loves everyone.  She loves to be held and snuggle.  You couldn’t ask for a more loving cat than her.  Always waiting for you at the door when you come home.  I call Buffy Mae the feline vacuum cleaner and her waist line shows it.  She loves her Fancy Feast and Natasha’s and Simon’s also.  As soon as they walk away from their dinner, there is Buffy Mae happy to clean their plates.

Image

                                          Buffy Mae

So there you have it, a crazy lady covered with cat hair with 3 furbabies that fill my life with fun and love.

Meow for now everyone………… ^..^

About Lizette Strait, Children's Book Author; JK Candlen, SciFi Author

Lizette Strait lives in Upstate New York with her husband, Alan and 3 cats, Simon, Natasha, and Buffy Mae. An avid writer for years, she has finally pressed the button and published her 1st novel, 'Pink Sneakers in Space' in May 2016. She loves writing children's books and is already working on book 2 in the Pink Sneakers series. The book is due out by the end of the summer. Lizette also writes Adult Sci-fi fantasy with a historical twist as JK Candlen. She is co-founder of Chicken Scratch, an online writing salon and a partner in 518 Publishing company. Every Sunday night you can find her at Denny's writing with her NaNoWriMo group. It is where she enjoys a cup of coffee, a hot fudge sundae and getting the words down. Follow her writing rants www.lizettestrait.com

Leave a Reply

